Tuesday, 09 October 2012 04:25


South Central RTC’s Annual Meeting was held at the Cave City Convention Center Thursday night, October 4th with a large crowd in attendance.  Entertainment was provided by The Lindsey’s.  The results of the mail ballot trustee election were announced. In District IV (Summer Shade, Edmonton and Center Exchanges) candidates were Incumbent Trustee Charles Knight, Billy Branstetter and Ronnie R. Tucker, with Knight receiving 589 votes, Branstetter 251 votes and Tucker 998 votes. In District VII (Buffalo and Magnolia Exchanges), candidates were Incumbent Trustee Joel Dixon and Connie O. Kersey with Dixon receiving 437 votes and Kersey 160 votes.  The President declared Tucker and Dixon elected as Trustees.

During the Business Session the Cooperative’s Secretary-Treasurer, Ralph Thompson reported on the Cooperative’s positive financial status.  The Cooperative’s General Manager David R. Davis thanked all members for attending this year’s Annual Meeting and spoke on SCRTC being a local cooperative striving to provide the best service possible to members who are friends and family. He also reported that SCRTC is continuing to upgrade our services, converting customers to the new IPTV service and trying to get as much fiber optic cable built as possible. Board Chairman Charles Knight spoke about SCRTC milestones such as having the foresight to partner with four other telephone companies to start up Bluegrass Cellular and then in 2002 to start offering digital TV and DSL service. Corporate Attorney Bobby Richardson gave a legal report on the compensation and responsibility of board trustees.

Following the Business Meeting, drawings were held for a grand prize of a 42-Inch LCD HD Color TV which was won by Mrs. Lawrence Thomas of the Magnolia Exchange with a $100 Wal-Mart Gift Card going to Linda Gibson of the Cave City Exchange and a $100 cash prize going to Mrs. Kelton Ford of the Horse Cave Exchange.  Cash prizes were also drawn in each exchange, along with several children’s prizes given away which included two Big Wheels, two bicycles, two CD Boom Boxes and two IPod Shuffles. Congratulations to all winners.

At the Board’s Annual Re-organizational Meeting Zack Kender was elected as President, Joel Dixon was elected as Vice President, Stanley Greer elected as Secretary-Treasurer, and Jerry Polson was elected as Assistant Secretary-Treasurer.



WCLU Weather

°F | °C
Partly Cloudy
Humidity: 71%
Partly Cloudy
36 | 46
2 | 7
Partly Cloudy
50 | 58
10 | 14