Wednesday, 07 November 2012 07:56

A huge voter turnout yesterday as the public’s voice has been heard in several important local races.

The Glasgow City Council will have 3 new faces following yesterday’s election. Businessman Joe Trigg had run before and lost, but actually received the third highest number of votes cast this time in the council race, and he told the audience on WCLU’s live coverage last night that he is ready to serve

No Flash Player detected


Another newcomer elected was Chiropractor Karalee Oldencamp

No Flash Player detected


And the third newcomer to the council will be businessman Dick Doty

No Flash Player detected


Sheila Oliver, who previously  served for 17 years on the council, but has been off for 10 years, was re-elected to return to the council seat.

The most votes in the council race were cast for incumbent Freddie Norris.


Three newcomers that ran strong but fell short of making the cut were Earl Hammons, Patrick Klapheke and Fred Shirley.  Shirley, a former Barren County Jailer,  was gracious in his defeat

No Flash Player detected

The tightest race of the election proved to be tight til the end last night as incumbent Krissie Coe Fields was re-elected to the position of Circuit Court Clerk for 6 more years, defeating challenger Jill Bryant by 873 votes in a race where over 16,000 votes were cast.   Fields had these comments following the final tabulation

No Flash Player detected

There were several contested School Board races in yesterday’s election.  For Glasgow Board of Education Amelia Kiser was reelected for another term. Incumbent LaDonna Rogers did not seek re-election and her seat will be filled by Wade Stone, who defeated Neil Thornbury by 420 votes.


In the race for Barren County board of education incumbent Kenneth Edwards was defeated by Kerry Dilley and incumbent Michelle Pedigo lost to Shelley Key Groce.  Randy Simmons ran unopposed in his district, which means 3 new faces will take seats on the Barren County Board of Education.


In the Cave City Council’s race the top 6 vote getters were former councilman Carol Ford, along with Gary Minor, Mike Houchens, Gary Hogan, James Wesley Pedigo and Seaborn Ellzy.


The Yes vote for the  Constitutional Question won by a landslide in Barren County, as did Mitt Romney for President and Brett Guthrie to return to Congress.



This is National Public Safety Telecommunications Week- Today we are patting on the back the “Unseen First Responders”. Beverly Harbison and employees- Julie Greer, April Dunbar, Dennis Hatcher, Laura Lee Williams, Amy Houchin, Colleen Hamilton, Schelly Vance, Pan Lyons, Jim Spears, Lisa Shirley, Teresa Bull, Alison Burton, Matthew Vaughn, Bill Ekhardt, Bill Shoopman, Kathy Tyree, Joe Perry, Joann Eaton.

WCLU Weather

°F | °C
Humidity: 100%
Mostly Cloudy
58 | 77
14 | 25
AM Thundershowers
41 | 70
5 | 21