Monday, 11 March 2013 04:06

On Friday morning at 9am, the Barren County Middle School media lab was filled with students, teachers, coaches and adults with a passion for BETA and the Academic Team. With the help of Assistant Superintendent of Barren County Schools, Mark Wallace and County Judge Executive Davie Greer, March 8th was dubbed by proclamation; Barren County BETA Day and Barren County Academic Team Day.


The purpose of this event was not only to announce the new title of March 8th, but to recognize some very hard working individuals in Barren County Schools. First, Mr. Wallace introduced the KY State Jr. BETA President Taryn Kirley. When asked how Taryn thought about the upcoming year, she kept it short and sweet.


No Flash Player detected


Then began the recognition; for Junior BETA,

Eastern Elementary – 1st place in the Kosair Charities Decorated Wagon Contest

Hiseville Elementary – 1st place in the T-shirt contest

Temple Hill Elementary – 1st place in the “Spotlight Your Club” with the theme “The Heart of BETA”


For Senior BETA,

Welcome Newly Elected State Vice President – Brooke Simmons

Barren County High School – 1st place in Group Talent


Also, a teacher elected to State Sponsor Position – Missy Botts from Park City Elementary


Then the ceremony moved on to the Academic team portion. In case you ever wondered what the “Governors Cup” was, it’s another name for the KY Academic Association of Competition, where these students received their honors.


From the 35th district, which includes:  Caverna Elem., Highland Elem., Hiseville Elem., Park City Elem., and North Jackson Elem.

North Jackson received District Champions with 56 total points for their school.


From the 36th District, which includes: Austin Tracy Elem., Red Cross Elem., South Green Elem., and Temple Hill Elem.

Temple Hill received District Champions.


The 35th District Individual Winners Include:

1st place math assessment – Katie Martin – North Jackson Elementary

1st place Social Studies – Justin Pippin – North Jackson Elementary

1st place Language Arts – Caroline Forester – North Jackson Elementary

1st place written comprehension – Madison High – Hiseville

1st place Arts & Humanities – Izabel Hoffman – North Jackson Elementary



The 35th District Team Winners Include:

1st place Future Problem Solving – North Jackson Elementary TIE with Katelyn Nunn – Hiseville

1st place Quick Recall – North Jackson Elementary


The 36th District Individual Winners Include:

1st place Social Studies – Luke Lyons – Temple Hill Elementary

1st place Language Arts – Trace Matthews – Temple Hill Elementary

1st place Arts & Humanities – Lilly Shipley – Red Cross Elementary

1st place Written Comprehension – Bethany Shaw – Temple Hill Elementary


36th District Team Winners:

1st place Future Problem Solving – Temple Hill Elementary


Judge Executive Davie Greer ended the program with a few insightful and inspiring words.


No Flash Player detected



Who's Online

We have 767 guests online

Today is Sandy Corbin Day!!

WCLU Weather

°F | °C
Humidity: 44%
Mostly Clear
62 | 86
16 | 30
65 | 89
18 | 31